Do you need to update your knowledge of the EYFS?

October 21, 2016

Learning and development is one of the two key areas of the EYFS, and it is extremely important. As learning and development shapes the activities and experiences nannies and other forms of childcare offer children under 5 years old.

The EYFS states that the educational programme must involve activities and experiences that cover 7 significant and inter-connected areas of learning and development.

Let’s take a quick look at these 7 important areas.

  1. Language and communication development

Creating an environment where children are comfortable and are able to express themselves. Plus being able to speak and listen in a variety of situations enables them to develop their language and communication skills.

  1. Physical development

Children from a young age become very active. As well as becoming naturally active they must also be taught why it is important to be active as well as healthy. They must learn about healthy eating and why they should continue physical activity.

  1. Personal, social, and emotional development

This area helps to shape children’s social skills, learn about respect and gaining an understanding of their different feelings/emotions.

  1. Development in Literacy

Overtime, in a natural and taught environment children need to become phonemic aware. This is the ability to hear and identify different words and sounds. As we all as start learning to read and write.

  1. Development in Mathematics

Children need help/guidance when developing their knowledge of numbers and mathematical calculations. As well as being able to distinguish between different shapes, spaces, and measures.

  1. Making sense of the world

This is through children observing and exploring everything around them. This is done by spending time in different places as well as using different technology around them.

  1. Expressing themselves

Giving children the chance to express themselves, through: painting, drawing, instruments or physical activities such as dance. This gives them the chance to not only express themselves but also learn new things.

Remember the four guiding principles

In a previous EYFS blog written, we mentioned the four guiding principles. These principles can be used when implementing the 7 learning and development areas mentioned in this blog:

  1. Every child is unique
  2. Through positive relationships children can learn to be strong and independent
  3. Children learn and develop best in enabling environments
  4. Children learn and develop at different rates and in different ways

Need to update your skills?

If you are working in an early years environment, you need to be aware of the 7 learning and development areas. You also need to have a broad understanding of the rest of the EYFS.

Take our training course today and become more aware of the EYFS.

Book here NOW


Harmony at Home Limited. All Rights Reserved, 2016

Posted by Harmony at Home Head Office Team | Filed Under Childcare Training Courses, Expert Advice, Quick Nanny Top Tips, Top Tips for Nannies